Sunday, September 26th, 2021

Zahn honored as Sagamore of the Wabash

Posted: Friday, August 20, 2021

Michael S. Zahn, chairman of the Indiana Bankers Association, has been honored as a Sagamore of the Wabash by Gov. Eric J. Holcomb on August 15. The award was presented by Thomas C. Fite, director of the Indiana Department of Financial Institutions, at the IBA Annual Convention in French Lick. The Sagamore of the Wabash award is given to exemplary Hoosiers in recognition of distinguished statewide service.

Zahn is president and CEO of First Federal Savings Bank, Huntington. He joined the bank in 1996 and was named president in 2005 and CEO in 2011. Zahn is a board member and past president of the Huntington University Foundation and a member of the board of directors of Huntington County Economic Development. Additionally, he is a past member of the board of trustees for Huntington University and past chair of the United Way of Huntington Capital Campaign, the Bowen Center, the Optimist Club, Parkview Huntington YMCA, Huntington County Junior Achievement, Huntington County Chamber of Commerce and Lime City Economic Development.

Zahn has served the Indiana Bankers Association as chairman, first vice chairman, second vice chairman and northeast region director, and additionally served on several committees of the American Bankers Association. He earned an undergraduate degree from Indiana University and an MBA from the University of Notre Dame.

“Michael Zahn has skillfully led the Indiana Bankers Association throughout the challenges of the pandemic,” said Amber R. Van Til, IBA president and CEO. “Our Association is stronger than ever, thanks to Chairman Zahn. As a leader of integrity, he upholds the high standards of the Sagamore of the Wabash award.”

Shown in the photo is State Senator Andy Zay, left, and Tom Fite, right, of the Indiana Department of Financial Institutions as they congratulate Michael S. Zahn, center, for being named a Sagamore of the Wabash. The award was presented at the Indiana Bankers Association Annual Convention in French Lick.