Sunday, September 26th, 2021

Torchbearer nominations due by December 30

Posted: Friday, November 20, 2015

Indiana’s Bicentennial Celebration for 2016 includes a traveling torch. The torch will travel throughout Indiana’s 92 counties over six weeks, reaching Huntington County on September 30, 2016. A public celebration will be held at Hier’s Park.

Torchbearers are needed from Huntington County for that day toward this effort, and may be nominated based on exceptional service to the community. A set of criteria that recognizes Hoosiers who demonstrate exceptional public service, excellence in their profession, acts of heroism or volunteer service to their neighborhood, community, region or state will be used in the selection process. Posthumous and youth nominations will also be accepted. Anyone can nominate a torchbearer by December 31, 2015 by filling out a form available at the Huntington County Chamber of Commerce, (260) 356-5300.

For more information or to follow the Bicentennial in Huntington County, go to the Bicentennial Facebook page at

The Bicentennial of the state of Indiana will be celebrated in 2016. A Huntington County steering committee under the direction of the Huntington County Chamber of Commerce is coordinating events that will take place locally to honor the state’s 200th birthday. The steering committee is shown in the photo from left, first row, Angie Garcia of the Chamber; Steve Kimmel, steering committee chairman and executive director of the Chamber; Susan Taylor, Historic Forks of the Wabash board president 2015. Back row, from left, Trace Hinesley, Huntington County Community School Corporation and Chamber board; Alice Eshelman, Roanoke Chamber of Commerce president 2015; Paula Kimmel, publicity chair; Ann Siegfried, representing the LaFontaine Arts Council and the Arts Initiative; Amber Hudson, of the Huntington City-Township Public Library and Tina Bobilya, of the Huntington County Visitor and Convention Bureau. Also serving on the committee are Gib Young, of the Huntington County Historical Society; Teresa Daniels; Lyn Ocken, Huntington art teacher and Diane Hunter, representing the Miami Nation.