Thursday, May 13th, 2021

Students receive Chick-fil-A scholarships

Posted: Friday, May 26, 2017

Chick-fil-A, Inc. has selected seven Fort Wayne area residents and Chick-fil-A Jefferson Pointe team members as Leadership Scholarship recipients.

Alyssa LaCella, Michelle Calloway, Rita Eichman, Bridget Eichman, Kimmy Grobien, Grant Yager and Gabe Stein were nominated by Jeff Hoffman, owner/operator of Chick-fil-A Jefferson Pointe, and each received a $2,500 Chick-fil-A Leadership Scholarship.

“The scholarship program recognizes employees who demonstrate the leadership and character qualities to build a successful life, while offering tangible assistance to enrich their lives with education beyond high school,” says Hoffman. “These team members have the potential to accomplish great things.”

The Chick-fil-A Leadership Scholarship Program began in 1973 out of founder Truett Cathy’s desire to incent restaurant employees to further their education. Since the program’s inception, more than 30,000 team members have received scholarships, bringing the total amount to nearly $30 million. In addition, all recipients are eligible for Chick-fil-A’s S. Truett Cathy Scholar Award, which provides an additional $1,000 scholarship to the top 25 Chick-fil-A Leadership Scholarship recipients each year.

Atlanta-based Chick-fil-A, Inc. is the nation’s second-largest quick-service chicken restaurant chain (based on sales), with more than 1,600 restaurants in 39 states and Washington D.C. In 2012, Chick-fil-A produced record sales of $4.6 billion. Credited with inventing the boneless breast of chicken sandwich and first introducing the chicken nugget concept, Chick-fil-A serves nutritious and freshly prepared food products in mall locations, stand-alone restaurants, drive-thru-only restaurants, Chick-fil-A Dwarf House and Truett’s Grill full-service restaurants, and through licensed outlets in college campuses, hospitals, airports, businesses and industrial sites. More information about Chick-fil-A is available on the chain’s websites, located at,,, and

Shown in the photo from left to right are Jeff Hoffman, owner/operator, and scholarship winners Alyssa LaCella, Kimmy Grobien, Grant Yager, Rita Eichman, Bridget Eichman and Michelle Calloway. Not pictured is Gabe Stein.