Wednesday, September 22nd, 2021

Johnson, Packnett, Hamilton honored

Posted: Wednesday, May 25, 2011

Ralph Johnson of Johnson Petroleum Inc., Huntington, was recognized as one of the newest members of the Greater Fort Wayne Business Hall of Fame. Johnson was inducted as the 73rd member at Junior Achievement’s annual BEL (Business and Education Leadership) Awards ceremony Tuesday, May 24 at the Grand Wayne Convention Center, Fort Wayne.

Johnson Petroleum, Inc. was founded by J. Edward Johnson in 1928 and in 1971 he sold the business to his son, Ralph Johnson. Johnson operated the business until his retirement in 1999. Johnson has extensively served many facets of his community leading to the induction into the Greater Fort Wayne Business Hall of Fame. The superior reputation which Johnson began for service to his customers and to his community is being carried on by his family which continue to operate the fuel hauling service Johnson began, several convenience stores, a Quik Lube service, a truck stop/wash and a warehouse.

John Bonsib, retired chairman and president of Bonsib Advertising and the founder of Citizens Cable Co., was named a 2011 hall of fame laureate along with Johnson. In addition, Mike Packnett, president and CEO of Parkview Health, was presented with the Ove Jorgensen Spirit of Leadership Award. The Ove Jorgensen Spirit of Leadership Award is given to a person in business that provides community leadership through the many efforts and organizations he supports with extensive commitments of time and energy. Marjorie and Homer Hiner, former owners of Hiner Transport of Huntington, were named to the Greater Fort Wayne Business Hall of Fame in 2002.

Kyle Hamilton, Our Sunday Visitor, Huntington, received a Golden Achievement Award at the ceremony for his contributions and volunteer efforts to education. The Golden Leadership Award is given to indviduals who have made significant contributions to Junior Achievement programs. Awards were also given to honor the innovations and achievements of other volunteer consultants, teachers and school administrators.

The Greater Fort Wayne Business Hall of Fame was established in 1984 and according to Lena Yarian, president of Junior Achievement of Northern Indiana, “Through BEL Awards, we are celebrating the educators, volunteers and business leaders who partner with Junior Achievement to bring economic education to students.” She continued, “Because of their commitment to JA and the community, young people will have the firm foundation they need to be ready to succeed in tomorrow’s local, region and global economy.”