Tuesday, April 20th, 2021

County recognized for commitment to education

Posted: Friday, July 1, 2016

INDIANAPOLIS – Eleven Indiana counties received College Success County distinctions Tuesday, June 28, for their work to increase the percentage of Hoosiers with education and training beyond high school. Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers presented the awards during a special ceremony held at the Indiana Statehouse.

Two members of Huntington County’s College Success Coalition traveled to Indianapolis to accept the award: Tiffanney Drummond and Trace Hinesley, both members of the Life Long Learning and Huntington Schools. Representatives from eleven counties attended the ceremony to accept the award on behalf of their county’s College Success Coalitions. Brown, Dearborn, Greene, Huntington, Johnson, LaGrange, Marshall, Martin, Randolph, Starke and Warrick counties were recognized.

“We are incredibly grateful for the work local leaders from Huntington County are doing to advocate for our students and the future of Indiana,” said Lubbers. “Indiana’s College Success Coalitions are increasing access to college and postsecondary training and student success which will make Indiana better and stronger for years to come.”

These partnerships build on Indiana’s commitment to establish one of the best and most student-centered higher education systems in the nation and go hand in hand with the commission’s third strategic plan, Reaching Higher, Delivering Value.

The Indiana College Success County award is presented to counties that establish a College Success Coalition of community organizations that work together to increase college access and success. Today there are coalitions in 72 Indiana counties that have recruited more than 2,000 member organizations, including local schools, community groups and businesses.  Indiana’s College Success Coalitions have documented nearly 4,000 activities ranging from facilitating college visits and experiences and informing families about the opportunities for their children to go to college.

Huntington County College Success Coalition steering team members include Kathy Carney, Business; Ben Davis, Youth Service Organization; Adam Drummond; Tiffanney Drummond, Life Long Learning; Desiree Frederick, Youth Service Organization; Trace Hinesley, representative, Huntington County Community School Corporation;  Jessica Howell, Economic Development; Michael Howell, Huntington County Community Foundation/Non-Profit; Steve Kimmel, Huntington County Chamber of Commerce/Economic Development; Sadie Landrum, director, Huntington North High School counseling; Beka Lemons, Huntington City-Township Public Library; Lisa Smith, College Admissions Representative; Jenna Strick, Community Foundation/Non-profit; Doug Thieme, Region 8 Outreach Education Coordinator; Michael Wanous, College Admissions Representative and Jan Williams, Youth Service Organization.

Earning the College Success County Award

To earn the Indiana College Success County award, these 11 organizations created data-driven strategic plans and documented activities that aim to increase the percentage of high school graduates and returning adults who earn a postsecondary credential including certificates as well as two- and four-year college degrees. Recognized counties receive a road sign proclaiming the county an Indiana College Success County.

Joining the College Success Coalition

Local organizations are encouraged to join their county’s College Success Coalition and help create a college-going culture in Indiana. These County Coalitions envision that all citizens will have access to people who know how to plan, prepare and pay for education beyond high school. Local organizations can join the College Success Coalition at LearnMoreIndiana.org/Coalitions.

Shown in the photo accepting the award for Huntington County is Trace Hinesley, shown at right in the photo. At left is Teresa Lubbers, Commissioner for Indiana’s Commission for Higher Education.