Sunday, September 19th, 2021

Chamber holds 89th Annual Meeting

Posted: Friday, January 25, 2013

The Chamber of Commerce held its 89th Annual Meeting on Monday, January 21 at the Huntington PAL Club. The 215 people who enjoyed the evening set a new attendance record for an annual meeting.

Jeremy Nix, Matheny Hahn Denman & Nix welcomed the group and The Honorable Brooks Fetters, Mayor of the City of Huntington, led the Pledge of Allegiance. Greg Smitley, iAB Financial Bank gave the invocation. Dinner was served by Sodexo Catering Services.

Executive Director Steve Kimmel explained that Chamber membership is now 401, a record number. He thanked outgoing 2012 chair of the board Nicole Johnson for her service to the Chamber. Lee Pasko, iAB Financial Bank, succeeds Johnson as chairman of the board for 2013 and also spoke to the group. He presented Johnson with the Chair of The Chamber Award plaque.

Johnson thanked the Ambassador group and all the volunteers involved in the Chamber’s activities and urged more people to get involved in the community. Co-chairs Scott Trauner and Jim Scheiber were recognized for their coordination of the Huntington County Business EXPO in 2012. Joe Burgess, chairman, and the Heritage Days Steering Committee, and the committee that staged the A B.I.G. Day annual golf outing and dinner were thanked. Johnson went on to pass out awards to individuals and businesses who have served the Chamber and the community.

Plaques were also presented to retiring board members: Tracey Shafer, Huntington County Community School Corporation; Seth Marshall, BSB Investments; Rose Wall, former owner of Wehr Into Flowers and Richard Najuch, the New Huntington Theatre and Supper Club. Incoming board members were introduced: Ryan Lemon, Parkview Huntington Family YMCA; Trace Hinesley, Huntington County Community School Corporation; Joseph Santa, TrophyCenter Plus and Kay Schwob, Huntington University.

Rusty Northrop and Evan Burgess of Midwest Dueling Pianos then entertained with piano selections. The pair played requests and involved the audience in their performance for an hour and a half.

Shown in the photo are the winners of the Chamber annual awards and Chamber chairs. From left, Lee Pasko, iAB Financial Bank, Chamber chairman of the board for 2013; Kyle Hamilton, president, Our Sunday Visitor, winner of the Chamber Partner Award; Rose Wall, retiring board member, Chairman’s Award; Phyllis Renz, Huntington County Visitor and Convention Bureau, Volunteer of the Year; Terry Miller, Real Living Ness Bros Realtors, Ambassador of the Year and Nicole Johnson, Chamber chair of the board for 2012. Not pictured is George DeWeese, DeWeese Soft Water who was awarded this year’s Community Excellence Award.