Sunday, September 26th, 2021

Chamber Annual Dinner has record crowd

Posted: Tuesday, January 18, 2011

Thirty-six new chamber members were introduced on Monday evening, January 17 at the Huntington Chamber of Commerce’s Annual Dinner. The event was held at the Lafontaine Golf Club and enjoyed by a record-setting 211 attendees.

The evening welcome was given by Michael Perkins, the master of ceremonies and foundation director for Parkview Huntington Hospital. A moment of silence was held for Robert Brown, former Chamber executive director, who passed away in 2010. Mayor Steve Updike followed with the Pledge of Allegiance with the invocation given by Pete Schownir, Huntington University.

Steve Kimmel, Chamber executive director, thanked all who support the Chamber throughout the year and recognized the sponsors who made the evening possible. Major sponsors include Bendix Commerical Vehicle Systems, Mike Pogorelc, Lori Mickley; and Cinergy MetroNet, Marianne Cox, Steve Biggerstaff, Dan Townsend, Jennifer McCloskey.

Other sponsors include Beacon Credit Union, Sue Rumple; Bippus State Bank, Ryan Warner, Erin Carter; First Federal Savings Bank, Michael Zahn, Satin Lemon; Lake City Bank, Paula Whiting; MarkleBank, Greg Smitley, Lee Pasko; Teachers Credit Union, Sandy Seacott; and Wells Fargo Bank, Michelle Crone.

The meal sponsor for the event was Comcast, Paul Smith, Al Thawyer, Larry Ramey. The hotel room sponsor was Holiday Inn Express, BC Patel; props sponsor, Aaron’s Lease to Own, Nick Krontz and Parkview Huntington Hospital, Mike Perkins; and sound system, Steve Hatfield.

Seth Marshall, 2010-2011 chairman of the chamber board, thanked all those who contribute to the Chamber’s success and introduced the Volunteer of the Year, Bob Zahm of Huntington Heating and Cooling. Zahm was recognized for all the electrical supplies and man hours he donates toward Chamber events especially the Business EXPO. Marshall also introduced the Chamber Ambassadors and recognized Gene Snowden as the Ambassador of the Year.

Retiring board members received plaques for their service to the Chamber. These individuals included Mathew Roth, DeLaney, Hartburg, Roth & Garrott; Ronald Tinkle, First Federal Savings Bank; Jeremy Nix, Matheny Hahn Denman & Nix; Kittie Keiffer, RE/Max Professional Group; and Kimberly Myers, Myers Jewelry.

New board members beginning terms in 2011 were introduced including Michael Zahn, First Federal Savings Bank; Stefan Poling, Rollo, Harter & Poling LLP; Richard Najuch, The New Huntington Theater and Supper Club; and Gregory Batt, Ad Design.

The executive committee for 2011 will be Seth Marshall, Bippus Investments, chairman; Nicole Johnson, Edward Jones, chairman of the board-elect; Lee Pasko, MarkleBank, treasurer; and Stefan Poling, Rollo, Harter & Poling LLP, assistant treasurer.

Directors of the board of directors for 2011 include Lori Mickley, Bendix Commercial Vehicle Systems; Michael Perkins, Parkview Huntington Hospital Foundation; Tracey Shafer, Superintendent Huntington County Community School Corporation; Daniel Juergens, Juergens Do-It Center; Michael McElhaney, McElhaney-Hart Funeral Home, Rose Wall, Wehr Into Flowers; Sandra Seacott, Teachers Credit Union; and Art Daronatsy, Dean Foods.

Those in attendance were served a delicious meal provided by Kim’s Catering and were entertained by Mission IMPROVable, a comedy troupe from Chicago, Illinois. The group of four men performed various comedy situations involving the audience and a good time was enjoyed by all.  For photos of the event follow this link

Shown in the photo is Gene Snowden, accepting the award as Ambassador of the Year from Seth Marshall, chairman of the Chamber board.