Saturday, January 16th, 2021

BBBS to host Brett Favre at Annual Dinner

Posted: Thursday, March 16, 2017

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Northeast Indiana (BBBSNEI) is excited to announce that its 44th Annual Gourmet Dinner will take place Tuesday, May 23, at the Grand Wayne Convention Center to benefit the agency and its mission to help local children reach their potential through professionally supported one-to-one mentor relationships. Since its establishment in 1973, the Annual Gourmet Dinner has grown to be one of the area’s premier charity events with a guest list including more than 800 of the community’s most notable business leaders.

The Annual Gourmet Dinner offers its guests a reception, followed by a multi-course gourmet meal, keynote speaker and grand prize giveaway. BBBSNEI is proud to announce that the 2017 keynote speaker is former pro football quarterback and Hall of Fame inductee, Brett Favre. Favre is a former quarterback who spent 20 years in the NFL. Favre started his rookie year in Atlanta but was then traded to the Green Bay Packers where he spent 16 years as their starting quarterback.

He led the Packers to eight division championships, five NFC Championships and took the team to two Super Bowls, winning the Super Bowl in 1997 against the New England Patriots. Favre is the only player to win the NFL Most Valuable Player award three consecutive times between 1995 and 1997. He holds many NFL records, including most career pass completions, most career pass attempts, and most consecutive starts by a player. He also is referred to by his nickname “The Gunslinger.”  Favre was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2016.

Ticket prices start at $300. The reception is scheduled for 6 p.m. with dinner following at 6:45 p.m. In addition to our keynote speaker, Big Brothers Big Sisters will also announce its annual Don Wolf Award recipient. Established in 1999, the Don Wolf Award is given to an individual who exhibits an exceptional commitment of service to children in our community. The founder and long-time CEO of Do-it-Best Corp., Wolf coordinated the launch of the Big Brothers Big Sisters program in northeast Indiana in 1972. Past recipients of the Don Wolf Award include Senator Dan Coats, Jim Kelley, Dale ‘Mr. Mac’ McMillen, Sr., Louis DeLaGrange, Rick McCampbell, Richard and Harriet Inskeep, Tyler Lehman, Dr. Mike Mastrangelo, Jerry Henry and most recently Keith Busse.

BBBSNEI would like to thank the sponsors of the 44th Annual Gourmet Dinner: Indiana Physical Therapy, Seely Office Solutions, BKD CPAs & Advisors, PNC Bank, Steel Dynamics, Lutheran Health Network and Northwestern Mutual. BBBSNEI also would like to thank its 2017 Corporate Community Partners: AT&T, Indiana Physical Therapy, WFFT Fox Local, BKD CPAs & Advisors, DeKalb Molded Plastics, Chase Bank, Coca-Cola, Old National Bank, Do it Best Corp., Markey’s Rental & Staging, Wagner-Meinert, LLC, PNC Bank, Ambassador Enterprises and United Way.

For 45 years, Big Brothers Big Sisters has operated under the belief that the ability to succeed and thrive is inherent in every child. As the nation’s largest donor and volunteer supported mentoring network, Big Brothers Big Sisters’ vision is to provide children facing adversity with strong and enduring, professionally supported one-to-one relationships that change their lives for the better, forever.