Monday, January 25th, 2021

ABWA recognizes four local individuals

Posted: Friday, June 2, 2017

The Forks of the Wabash Chapter of the American Business Women’s Association recently held their Annual Business Associates Night on Wednesday, May 17, at the Forks of the Wabash Banquet Room. During this annual event, many recognitions and awards are given to members of the chapter as well as to members of the community. The organization also awards several scholarships to deserving young ladies who are pursuing higher education degrees.

Vicki Pearson, Huntington, was chosen as the 2016 Woman of the Year. To receive this honor, a member is judged on accomplishments, personally and professionally, her participation with chapter activities, offices held and her success in the business world. Pearson joined the organization in 2011 and has chaired publicity, membership, nominating chair for 2017 for the Women’s National Leadership Conference, vice chair of Hoosier Heartland Area Council and the co-fundraising chair.  She is in involved with the preparation of the chapter’s biggest fundraising event, the Brat Tent. Pearson works at Huntington County Recorder’s office and has volunteered with the Boy Scout Troop 130, United Way, Habitat for Humanity Gala and the Indiana Dream Center Gala.

Angela Smith, Roanoke, received the Vonnie Hoover Spirit Award. This award is given to a member in recognition of a long-time member, Vonnie Hoover, who before her untimely death was the chapter’s devoted “cheerleader,” and set passionate standards for the chapter. Smith exemplifies the standards through her willingness to volunteer. She has served as the chapter’s vice president, along with serving on many committees. Smith works as a Mary Kay consultant.

This year's Good Guy awards went to Tim Bischoff, accepting for City Services, for their help with Brat Tent set-up every year, and to Plan B, the Saturday night band for this year’s event for their willingness to go above and beyond helping to promote the cause of the ABWA as well as playing at the event.

Jean Anne Bailey with Nick’s Kitchen won the Business Associate of the Year award. This award is given to a local business person who supports the community, encourages and assists employees and gives back to other organizations.

Forks of the Wabash chapter of ABWA was able to award four $2,000 scholarships this year to the following Huntington County residents: Kayla Wolf, graduate student at University of St. Francis, physician assistant program; Jaida Smith, student at DePaul University in Chicago, Illinois, majoring in economics and French; Rachel Decker, graduate student at University of St. Thomas in St. Paul, Minnesota, Master of Arts and Amanda Kaiser, graduate student at Purdue University in West Lafayette, Masters of Public Health. The local ABWA chapter has given nearly $300,000 in scholarships to deserving students since its inception.